Tuesday, March 8, 2016


 Taking into consideration the request of the Cabinet Secretary to give more time to Govt to arrive at conclusions on the Charter of demands raised by Staffside and also the situation in the aftermath of the coming into effect the Election Code of Conduct NJCA meeting held on 7th March decided to defer the date of commencement of indefinite strike to 11th July 2016 and to serve strike notice on 9th June 2016. Detailed mobilisation programme will be announced later =          

Secretary General    
Confederation of Central Govt Employees
& Workers.

Centre decides to withdraw tax on Provident Fund

News have surfaced that the Prime Minister has instructed the Finance Minister to put a hold on the proposed plan to impose taxes on PF withdrawals. Finance Minister Arun Jaitley is expected to make an official announcement in this regard shortly.
Employee unions all over the country have been vehemently opposing the proposed tax on the withdrawals made on the most important savings of a worker, from the moment the announcement was made. Most employees depend on their provident fund savings to meet some of the most important expenses of their lives, like medical, marriages, building a house, etc. The decision to impose tax on these withdrawals was condemned by all.
Jaitley had announced a tax on 60 percent of the Employee Provident Fund, and Public Provident Fund. The government has now said that they had planned to impose tax only on the PF Interest. But, there was strong opposition for this too. Demands were made to withdraw this tax.
According to information available, Jaitley had informed at the meeting of the MPs that the Prime Minister will have to decide on this. Meanwhile, the Prime Minister has recommended the Finance Minister to stop the tax on the PF withdrawals, and to conduct a thorough study on this. Arun Jaitley is expected to take the required action after consulting with the officials of his ministry. The Prime Minister’s intervention has restored the peace of mind of more than 60 lakh Government employees.